The Galveston Bay Council

In accordance with The Plan, a coordinating body, The Galveston Bay Council , was created and appointed by the TNRCC (now the TCEQ) in November 1995. In essence, the Galveston Bay Council represents a continuation of the stakeholders of the Management Conference convened for the plan’s creation. This Council will:

    • Provide an ongoing forum for technical and stakeholder review and involvement during The Plan implementation.
    • Contribute to assessments of Plan effectiveness and participate in periodic redirection of The Plan initiatives.
    • Advise the TCEQ during consistency reviews of eligible federal projects.
    • Maintain agency commitments to implement The Plan; assure efficient cross-jurisdictional coordination and, if necessary, facilitate resolution of disputes.
    • Set annual priorities for the implementation of action plans.
    • The various Galveston Bay stakeholder groups are represented by the Council membership.

Leading Implementation
The GBEP and the Galveston Bay Council

Sarah P. Bernhardt – GBEP Program Director
Helen Paige – Galveston Bay Council Chair
Glenn Clingenpeel – Galveston Bay Council Vice-Chair

Council Members

Type of organization

Interest Represented


Federal Agencies: U.S. Coast Guard Aaron Rice, MSTC
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Andrea Catanzaro
Environmental Protection Agency J. Douglas Jacobson
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service John Huffman
U.S. Geological Survey Michael T. Lee
National Marine Fisheries Service Rusty Swafford
USDA – Natural Resources Conservation Service Scott Alford
State Agencies: Texas Department of Agriculture Kristin Lambrecht
Texas General Land Office Kate Saul
Texas Railroad Commission Audrey Kuklenz
Texas Department of State Health Services Kirk Wiles
Texas Department of Transportation Christine Bergren
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Kelly Holligan
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Rebecca Hensley
Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board Brian Koch
Texas Water Development Board Caimee Schoenbaechler
Regional/Local Governments: Gulf Coast Authority Lori Traweek
Houston-Galveston Area Council Jeff Taebel
Port Houston Garry McMahon
City of Houston Phillip Goodwin
Large Local Governments (populations >500,000) Russ Poppe
Medium Local Governments (populations 25,000 – 500,000) Ronnie Schultz
Small Local Governments (populations <25,000) Mary Beth Stengler
Trinity River Authority Glenn Clingenpeel
San Jacinto River Authority Jace Houston
Environmental/ Citizen’s Groups: Galveston Bay Foundation Bob Stokes
Coastal Conservation Association Taylor Rieck
Citizens-at-Large Sharron L. Stewart
League of Women Voters Nancy Parra
Low-Income Community Representative Albert Gonzales
Minority Community Representative Luz Locke
Other Conservation Organizations Linda Shead
Private Sector: Greater Houston Partnership Will Nipper
Utilities Vacant
Gulf Economic Development District Charles Wemple
Industry Caryn Brooks
East Harris County Manufacturer’s Association Ana Partin
Marinas Helen Paige
Commercial Fisheries Tracy Woody
Research/Academia: Major Universities Hanadi Rifai
Texas Sea Grant Program Pamela Plotkin